Joined: EU 2004 Eurozone 2008 Schengen 2007 Malta had been part of the British Empire since 1814 and gained its independence in 1964, while remaining part of the British Commonwealth, which had replaced the British Empire in 1949. It joined the European Union in 2004, the Schengen area in 2007, and the Euro in 2008. As Commonwealth citizens Maltese resident in the United Kingdom where allowed to vote in the United Kingdom referendum.

© Mercia McMahon. All rights reserved