Joined: EU 1958 Eurozone 1999 Schengen 1995 Luxembourg is part of the Benelux bloc of Belgium, Netherlands, and Luxembourg that joined together with the more powerful economies of France, Germany, and Italy in founding the European Communities. Luxembourg is tiny in comparison to the other five founders, buts its interest in pursuing peace through economics is obvious. It declared neutrality in both World War One and World War Two, but in both occasions it was occupied by Germany. It has very successful financial services industry and continues to be seen as part of the Inner Circle of the European Union who are most keen on ever closer union. The current President of the European Commission, Jean Claude Juncker, is a former prime minister of Luxembourg.

© Mercia McMahon. All rights reserved